

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: July 7, 2017

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 10, 2017. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	<b>TERM</b> (from June 1, 2017)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from June Senate meeting)
СС	Faculty Senator	2 years		Peter Tingling
	Student Member	1 year		Claire Christie
	Faculty Member	2 years		Laura Marks
DOAC	Convocation Senator	3 years		Sylvia Gajdics
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Erik Sagmeon
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Student Senator	1 year		Alam Khehra
	Graduate Student Member	2 years		Iva Cheung
REB	Graduate Student Member	2 years		Vienna Lam
KED	Graduate Student Member	2 years		Michael Chua
	Undergraduate Student Member	2 years		Christine Wang
SAB	Faculty member	1 year		Veselin Jungic
	Faculty member	2 years		Cathy D'Andrea
	Faculty member	1 year	Paul Garfinkel	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	2 years		Geoffrey Poitras
	Undergraduate Student	2 years		Darien Lechner
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		

	Senator	1 year		Christoph Luelfesmann
SCAR	Senator	2 years		Colin Percival
	Student Senator	2 years	Amar Singh	
	Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member	1 year		Peter Ruben
	Senator (at-large)	2 years		
SCCS	Member of the University	2		
	Community (at-large)	2 years		
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Tracey Leacock
SCEMD	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Jaskarn Randhawa
SCEMP	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (FAS)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (FASS)	2 years		
SCIA	Faculty Member (FCAT)	2 years		
SCIA	Faculty Member (FENV)	2 years		Valerie Crooks
	Undergraduate Student (at-large)	2 years		Raman Bains
	Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years		Junxian Peng
	Faculty Member	2 years		Dan Laitsch
	Faculty Member	2 years		Abraham Punnen
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		Jillian MacIntosh
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		Christian Venhuizen
SCODA	Student	1 year		Iman Baharmand
	Student	1 year		Christine Wang
	Student	1 year		Kau'i Keliipio
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Alam Khehra
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Erik Sogmoen
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	3 years		Lyn Bartram
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	1 year		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (FENV)	3 years		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	3 years		Daniel Leznoff
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Colin Percival
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Sylvia Gajdics
SCUP	Faculty Senator (BUS)	1 year		Peter Tingling
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		Chris Shaw
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years		Dan Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	2 years		Tony Williams
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Jaskarn Randhawa
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Amar Singh	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Raajan Garcha	
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		

	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	1 year		Tracey Leacock
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Dorothy Ng
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Paula Gamble
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Arr Farah
	Faculty Member (FASS)	3 years		Dai Heide
	Faculty Member (HSCI)	1 year		Rochelle Tucker
SCUTL	Faculty Member (SCI)	3 years		Julian Christians
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Joseph Ssendikaddiwa
	Graduate Student	1 year		Erin Hogg
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Amanda Zanette
SGAAC	Graduate Student	1 year		Sarah Lord Ferguson
	Graduate student (alternate)	1 year	Jeff Yap	
	Graduate Student	1 year		Sarah Lord Ferguson
SUGU	Graduate Student	1 year		Erin Hogg
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Kevin Hegeman
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	Noortje de Weers	
	Senator	2 years		Glenn Chapman
SLC/LPAC	Senator	2 years		Dan Laitsch
Dual Positions	Undergraduate Student	2 years		Arr Farah
	Graduate Student	2 years		Junxian Peng
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	2 years		Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (FASS)	1 year	Holly Andersen	
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Geoffrey Poitras	
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		
SNC	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	2 years		
	Student Senator	1 year	Amar Singh	
	Graduate Student	1 year	Kau'i Keliipio	
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	3 years	<b>^</b>	
	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Faculty Member	2 years		Paul Tupper
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Colin Percival
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Faculty Member	2 years		Stephen Spector
	Graduate Student	1 year		Jayme Lewthwaite
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	Jeff Yap	
SPCSAB/	Undergraduate Student	1 year	•	Dorothy Ng
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Rilla MacDonald
SUAAC	Convocation Senator	3 years		Amanda Zanette
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Yasmin Khalili
	Undergraduate student (alternate)	1 year		Christine Wang
Vice Chair of Senate	Senator	1 year		Peter Tingling

\* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

appoint an alternate replacement.		
CC	Calendar Committee	
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee	
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee	
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee	
REB	Research Ethics Board	
SAB	Senate Appeals Board	
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules	
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies	
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning	
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities	
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals	
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours	
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities	
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies	
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning	
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee	
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee	
SLC	Senate Library Committee	
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee	
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries	
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee	